All Collections
Troubleshooting and How-To
How-To Articles
How to enable / disable auto-update of the Agent
How to enable / disable auto-update of the Agent
A
Written by Arick Disilva
Updated over a week ago

Cloud Deployment (Windows)

To enable/disable the auto-update setting for the Teramind Agent:

mceclip0__2_.png

1. Click the Gear icon near the top-right corner of the dashboard.

2. Select Setting.

3. Select the Autoupdate tab

4. Click the ENABLE AUTOMATIC UPDATES to enable/disable it.

Cloud Deployment (macOS)

By default, the auto-update feature is disabled for an instance. To enable it you will have to do the following:

Step 1: Activating the Auto Update Feature on Your Instance

First, you will need to contact our support team. They will activate it on your instance.

Step 2: Enabling/Disabling Auto Update on the Dashboard

Turn on the ENABLE AUTOMATIC UPDATES option on the Dashboard, under Settings > Autoupdate (same way you can enable/disable it on Windows - see above).

Step 3 Enable/Disabling Auto Update on the Endpoint

New Agent Installation

You can enable/disable auto-update when installing the Agent by adding the -d(1) or -d(0) command line parameter to the file name. Where, 1 means enable, 0 means disable. For example, to enable auto-update, use the following command:

curl teramind_agent_v1.235-d(1).pkg | sudo bash -

To disable auto-update, use this command:

curl teramind_agent_v1.235-d(0).pkg | sudo bash -

Note that you will still need to perform Step 1 and 2 above.

Existing Agent Installation

For an existing Agent installation, you can change the Agent configuration file to enable/disable auto-update on the Agent side (note, you will still need to perform Step 1 and 2 above). The configuration file is usually located at this location: /usr/local/teramind/agent/etc/agent.conf).

To enable the auto-update, add this line to the agent.conf file:

disable-autoupdate=0

Alternatively, you can just remove the disable-autoupdate line entirely to enable auto-update.

To disable auto-update, add this line:

disable-autoupdate=1

On-Premise / Private Cloud Deployment

Currently this feature is not available on On-Premise or Private Cloud deployments.

Did this answer your question?